Dawdling away

Today I can’t seem to be able to start anything, no motivation. Ok, I did have a very exhausting day yesterday, but that was yesterday and today is today, so we need to get on with it. Right? Unfortunately my body doesn’t seem to have the same opinion on that matter. So I kept dawdling away this morning, reading other people’s blogs, doing cross word puzzles online, taking some pictures of some FOs while I tried to motivate myself to do something useful, like finally writing those Christmas Cards, or at least something that I’ll get paid for….

I’ve knitted all weekend on the Christmas gifts (four down!) which also involved putting in the safety eyes.  And they are – as the name says – safe. They are so safe we hardly got them in. Fortunately G got the hang of it, otherwise my poor creatures would still be blind!

More on the dawdling side:  I watched this morning a long (slightly repetitive but otherwise well put together) feature that a clever PR person came up with to promote the new opera by Paris-born composer Frédéric Chaslin Wuthering Heights after Emily Brontë’s book  while they were recording it in Valencia earlier this year.

I can’t say I really like the book. It’s disturbing, mostly unhappy and sometimes it comes too close to real life. But it’s a terrific drama and I always thought it would make an excellent plot for an opera.  Funnily enough there aren’t many scores for this drama (could that be because the author is female?). On a research trip some months back for something completely different, I tracked down two opera  scores on this subject.  One is by Carlisle Floyd and one by Bernard Herrmann  – the man who gave us lots of film music including the ‘Storm Cantata’ in Hitchcock’s The Man Who Knew Too Much and is also conducting his work in the second version of the film (with Doris Day and James Steward).

From what they let you listen to in the YouTube clips Chaslin’s music is not frightening the ear with modern sounds, and there are some really pleasant although melancholic and dramatic tunes. (I’m always up for melancholy and despair, so much so that my singing teacher once set me on a ‘happy diet’ of music). It’s something that one could actually find oneself humming after having watched the opera. They chose the main characters with the book in mind, all the singers looked like they could be the character, maybe with one excepetion for the singer who sings Hindley, I did imagine him less happy. The Premiere of this Opera will be sometime 2009.

Well in case you’re looking for an excuse for some dawdeling too, there are 5 parts of this feature….

Leave a Reply

