12 von 12 on CFIDS/CFS/ME Awareness Day

Usually, on the 12th of every month I participate in the ’12 von 12′ pictures of the day – and I will proceed to to that, but 12th May is a very special day for me. It’s International CFIDS/CFS/ME Awareness Day. So for this ’12 von 12′ I will try to paint the picture of what it means to live this illness.  I have asked the Fog Knitters Forum on Ravelry for ideas and would like to mention sajrsteph (thanks for the Freedom Machine!) and dawn9163 who came to the rescue, jogged my brain and gave me great ideas for this post. It is so easy to fall into the trap of negativity when you are in constant pain and they reminded me to keep a positive outlook.

Many bloggers join in this month to raise awareness through posts about this illness. You can find out more on Blogging for ME/CFS. In a nutshell, the spoon theory describes how it feels to live with this sort of invisible illness. Und auf Deutsch findet ihr mehr ueber die Krankheit auf Reginas Website.

If you have read my posts on this blog, you know that I have CFS  – although I’d rather like to use the US definition of CFIDS (Chronic Fatigue Immune Dysfunction) than CFS (Chronic Fatigue Syndrome). I dislike the word syndrome as it usually means in scientific terms that not much can be done to help your situation, and I would much prefer to have an option out of this.

Options of a normal day with positive attitude:

Fatigatio (the German cfs site) is not as well organised, but they underwent some change lately and we hope they will improve further this year.

And, last but not least, every item sold in our little Etsy Shop contributes 0,50€ to the Fatigatio Hilfe. Not much, but (to borrow a famous slogan) every little helps!

PS And I forgot thank Caro for organising ’12 von 12′: macht wie immer Spass! You can check here who took part this time.

3 thoughts on “12 von 12 on CFIDS/CFS/ME Awareness Day

Leave a Reply

