August in Retro

©modishblog.com

I thought it might be a good thing to do this monthly rather than weekly – given the fact that we’ll be incredibly busy over the next months, but it’s been so much fun doing a retro post re-thinking about all the stuff that we’ve done, thought, eaten, planned… one nice way of looking at your what-you-have-achieved-list. So here we go again:

|Listened to| Crickets – not to be confused with cricket (a mistake I apparently made singing ‘Ain’t it a pretty night’ from Susannah – oops)
|Read| (only non-work books allowed!) or rather listened to a lot of books (ahh holidays…):

  • The Dragons of the Ordinary Farm by Tad Williams & Deborah Beale (I know it’s children’s book, but who said I was too old?) I loved it, it has all you need for a light summer reading and it’s extremely well read by Andreas Fröhlich. Two American kids raised by a single Mom are, unexpectedly, invited to spend the summer at their- unknown- great uncle’s farm in California. It does close at the end, but it leave some questions open. And after research I discovered that it’s part I of a series and the second will only be available next spring (enormous sigh).
  • The Tunnel series (praised to be the “new Harry Potter series”) by Roderick Gordon & Brian Williams sightly darker children’s book but equally fascinating. It’s all in the title: a secret world and secret civilization beneath London’s streets. Unfortunately Audible.de only offers the first book although the second is already available. I could have listened to the English version and get all three books, but somehow I discovered the German version first and now I don’t want to switch. I got so used to the reader and how he painted the characters … my fault.
  • And last but not least Darkside Park by Ivar Leon Menger and, for a change, a true German thriller (yey!) over 20 hours of listening in 18 chapters, six authors, 15 actors reading – a great book to start a new knitting project! My fist real lace project is well on the way! The story unfolds trough the eyes of 15 different people living or moving to a small imaginative and, supposedly, idyllic town in Maryland US called Porterville. Only after the three first stories you find similarities to what happen to people, yoiu start to understand why they disappear and what happens to them when they do it and why you should not have (under any circumstances) a fridge called frozen king A+ in your kitchen. It made me somehow very grateful to have a very small fridge in my own kitchen! Minor flaw: after listening to it alone in the rather deserted student accommodation in Sheffield (while G had her intro week) I was not up for leaving the room to go cross the corridor and heat up my dinner.

|Watched| Sunsets as dinner entertainment
|Did| Evening walk through medieval towns and jogged through the rain
|Learned| That industrial revolution started in the Peak District
|Ate| Lots of fish
|Drank| Marriage Frères Roiboos Tea
|Thought| I love holidays
|Was happy| going to the beach, walking in the woods, seeing my parents
|Wished| That holidays would be longer
|Planned| a wedding gift for H&A’s wedding -now we actually need to do it…
|Bought| things for above mentioned gift (can’t really be too specific here without giving it all away)
|Clicked| has be censored as it would give too much away about what the wedding gift will be (explanation will follow in October)

2 thoughts on “August in Retro

  1. dotsandyarn says:

    I was sure it WAS a translation from an English book until I wrote the blog post. I found out it was written as an audio book, but is being transformed into a ‘real’ book since May. Keep up hope! But beware you might be afraid of your own fridge after reading it 🙂

Leave a Reply

