FFF 30.05

It’s already time for the FFF of the week; yey for bank holiday Mondays and short working weeks! Head over to Stephi if you like to know how it works (if you don’t already know it…)

1.) Deine Geschichte der Woche? Your story of the week?

I don’t know if that qualifies as ‘story of the week’, (it’s not limited to this week), but Fee’s story about living with MS brought back the memories of when I first wrote a post on our blog about living with a chronic neurological illness (mine is CFIDS, though).  She only wrote it in German (though usually she writes bilingual posts in German and English) as it takes so much strength to write about it at all. I suppose that with a subject that is close to us it’s really difficult to create enough distance – and how would you? It’s your body, and where ever you go and how ever fast you run – it’s always coming with you. (G usually does some serious editing whenever I write about illness – yes, that would be the case again now… G.). Fee’s words have been on my mind ever since I read them. In so many things I recognised myself. I haven’t been very actively writing about the issues around invisible illnesses lately (one has to pick one’s battles), but I feel very strongly about it. If you want a laugh have a go at reading my sentences I really enjoy hearing – not!  post or even Emily’s appeal. How she could have phrased this so beautifully while being so sick is beyond me. We need more people like her or Fee (even though it is not the same illness, but being an invisible illness, it has a lot of similarities), people who stand up, because if we would all hold our tongues and hide that we are different, nothing will ever change. For more change and more understanding in the world: hats off to you, girls!
2.) Wo, mit was oder wem bist du glücklich gewesen? Where and with whom were you happy?

cupakes galoreLast weekend meeting friends with G (although we didn’t actually have any cupcakes…,but they look seriously tempting!!)
3.) Worauf freust du dich diesen Sonntag? What are you looking forward to on Sunday?

sewingSome sewing (and probably some serious cursing while ripping things apart again G.) – still don’t know if I ever get to wear a summer dress. I think G’s choice of a tunic is much better, but hey, there is still some material left over for me…
4.) Laut gelacht? (sonst auch leise…) Laughed out loud (or otherwise quietly)?

festival des metiersAt the Hermès Festival des métiers exhibition last week: they showed and explained the various jobs and the process of how a handbag, a watch, a silk scarf or a plate are designed and created. The people doing the jobs were French (or at least, spoke only French). They also had some very (very!) bored translators (so that non-French speakers would understand), who never translated any of the jokes. I had a hard time not to laugh out loud at how they mutilated some sentences so they would avoid telling the jokes. And no, we didn’t buy anything…(in case you were wondering)

5.) Dein Ziel für nächste Woche? Your goal for next week?

piano

Get some practice done – we need to get back into shape don’t we…?  What are your plans? I can’t wait to read your answers – especially because I have some boring end of year reports to do… Hope you have a fantastic weekend. It should be about 20°C here (my trustworthy friend from college reception told me today – let’s hope she’s right!

8 thoughts on “FFF 30.05

  1. Nike says:

    Gerade über den FFF hergefunden! Fees Post hat mich seit vorgestern auch sehr beschäftigt… gut, dass Du das erwähnt hast, ich hab erst mal nachgeschaut, was CFIDS ist. Davon hab ich NICHTS gewusst und nun weiß ich mehr und das ist wichtig!
    Grüße & hab ein schönes WE
    Nike

    • dotsandyarn says:

      Hallo! Es gibt schon eine Menge (unsichtbare) Krankheiten und manchmal ist man erstaunt wer/was so hinter einen Blog steht – schön dass Dir das weitergeholfen hat! Grüße und ein schönes WE zurück!

  2. nike says:

    ja, ich habe allen menschen mit schlechtem musikgeschmack spotifylisten zukommenlassen, so dass die nachbarn nicht mehr ganz so arg leiden müssen. hat das ja schon mal geklappt! 😉
    der pinke peggy porschen laden ist der hammer, ich möchte da jetzt bitte hin! sofort! fees post ging so unter die haut. ich les mich gleich auch noch durch deine links!
    ein entspanntes wochenende mit ruhigen nachbarn
    liebsten gruß
    nike

    • dotsandyarn says:

      Ich danke sehr für die Liste! Nachbarn haben scheinen sich erstmal ausgefeiert zu haben:-) Der Porschen Laden ist echt der Hammer, aber da willst Du mit Sonne hin weil man da zum sofort cupcake verdrücken draußen sitzen kann. Der red velvet sah schon ziemlich lecker aus! Für die Ecke fand ich sogar die Preise ganz ok. Entspanntes Wochenende zurück!

  3. Lolle Pampolle says:

    Von CFS hatte ich bisher auch noch nie gehört, jetzt musste ich mich erstmal durch deine Links klicken. Dein Post über “sentences I really enjoy hearing – not!” hat mir sehr gefallen! Schon krass was manche Leute so von sich geben (und sei es auch nur, weil sie unsicher sind, nicht wissen was sie sagen sollen, oder es gut meinen.)
    Mit der Migräne ist es ja ähnlich: es ist auch eine neurologische Krankheit, man sieht demjenigen die Kopfschmerzen nicht an und immer wenn ich sage:”Ich habe/hatte Migräne.”, fühle ich mich wie eine reiche, (alte) Dame, die Aufmerksamkeit will und gerade eine Ausrede für irgendetwas braucht. Und das obwohl Migräne ja mittlerweile ziemlich weit verbreitet und in der Allgemeinheit anerkannt ist. Und (bei mir zumindest) längst nicht so starke Auswirkungen hat.
    Es muss echt schwierig sein mit so einer schweren, kaum bekannten Krankheit zu leben und sich dann auch noch schlaue Sprüche anhören zu müssen. Großer Respekt!

    • dotsandyarn says:

      Danke für den lieben Kommentar! Bei Migräne fällt mir immer Pünktchen und Anton ein: Migräne sind Kopfschmerzen wenn man keine hat. CFS ist nicht so unbekannt aber hat eine schlechte Lobby – schon allein der Name ruft falsche Assoziationen hervor – ähnliche wie bei Migräne. Laura Hillenbrand (Seabiscuit) ist eine der prominenten Personen die daran erkrankt sind. Solche Beispiele zeigen einem, dass man doch ein Leben haben kann- auch wenn das ganz anders aussieht als man sich das gewünscht/vorgestellt hatte.

Leave a Reply

